Skip to content

Congressional Guard membership


The United States Congress is the bicameral legislature of the federal government of the United States consisting of two chambers: the Senate and the House of Representatives. The Congress meets in the Capitol in Washington, D.C.

Both senators and representatives are chosen through direct election, though vacancies in the Senate may be filled by a gubernatorial appointment. Members are usually affiliated to the Republican Party or to the Democratic Party, and only rarely to a third party or as independents.

Congress has 535 voting members: 435 Representatives and 100 Senators. The House of Representatives has six non-voting members in addition to its 435 voting members. These members can, however, sit on congressional committees and introduce legislation. These members represent Washington, D.C.Puerto RicoAmerican SamoaGuam, the Northern Mariana Islands and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

The members of the House of Representatives serve two-year terms representing the people of a single constituency, known as a “district”. Congressional districts are apportioned to states by population using the United States Census results, provided that each state has at least one congressional representative.

Each state, regardless of population or size, has two senators. Currently, there are 100 senators representing the 50 states. Each senator is elected at-large in their state for a six-year term, with terms staggered, so every two years approximately one-third of the Senate is up for election.

The 115th Congress includes 20 House members who have served or still serve in the National Guard. Five senators have spent time in the Guard.

The House members with Guard experience are:

Rep. Brian Babin, R-Texas, Texas Air Guard, 1969-1975

Rep. Jack Bergman, R-Mich., Rhode Island Army Guard, 1975-1978

Rep. Jim Bridenstine, R-Okla., Oklahoma Air Guard, 2015-present

Rep. Vern Buchanan, R-Fla., Michigan Air Guard, 1970-1976;

Rep. John Conyers Jr., D-Mich., Michigan Army Guard, 1948-1950

Rep. John J. Duncan, R-Tenn., Tennessee Army Guard, 1970-1987

Rep. Tulsi Gabbard, D-Hawaii, Hawaii Army Guard, 2003-present

Rep. Walter B. Jones, R-N.C., North Carolina Army Guard, 1967-1971

Rep. Trent Kelly, R-Miss., Mississippi Army Guard, 1985-present

Rep. Peter King, R-N.Y., New York Army Guard, 1968-1972

Rep. Adam Kinzinger, R-Ill., Illinois Air Guard, 2001-2003, Wisconsin Air Guard, 2003-present

Rep. Steven Palazzo, R-Miss., Mississippi Army Guard, 1997-present

Rep. Scott Perry, R-Pa., Pennsylvania Army Guard, 1980-present

Rep. Collin Peterson, D-Minn., Michigan Army Guard, 1963-1969

Rep. Harold Rogers, R-Ky., Kentucky Army Guard 1956-1957, 1958-1963, North Carolina Army Guard 1957-1958

Rep. Robert C. “Bobby” Scott, D-Va., Massachusetts Army Guard, 1970-1974

Rep. Steve Stivers, R-Ohio, Ohio Army Guard, 1988-present

Rep. Tim Walz, D-Minn., Nebraska Army Guard, 1981-1996, Minnesota Army Guard, 1996-2005

Rep. Joe Wilson, R-S.C., South Carolina Army Guard, 1975-2003

Rep. Steve Womack, R-Ark., Arkansas Army Guard, 1979-2009

Senators who have served in the Guard are:

Sen. Tammy Duckworth, D-Ill., Illinois Army Guard, 1996-2014

Sen. Mike Enzi, R-Wyo., Wyoming Air Guard, 1967-1973

Sen. Joni Ernst, R-Iowa, Iowa Army Guard, 2001-2015

Sen. Lindsey Graham, R-S.C., South Carolina Air Guard, 1989-1995

Sen. Johnny Isakson, R-Ga., Georgia Air Guard, 1966-1972