Skip to content

HIANG Launa’ole Award Winners for 2018

February 11, 2019

In 2001, the Launa’Ole – Above All Others awards were born.

For the past 17 years, the Hawaii Air National Guard has held the Launa’Ole awards and our reputation continues to grow world-wide. Our nominees and award recipients and every one of our HIANG airmen, are part of a seven decade-long legacy. From humble beginnings in 1946 to becoming an organization without rival.

Congratulations the winners of the 2018 Launa’ole Awards!

Airman of the year:

Fulltime – SrA Reid Suzuki, 154th Comptroller Flight

Traditional – A1C Noel Tadeo, 169th Air Defense Squadron

NCO of the year:

Fulltime – TSgt Michael Guzman, 201st Combat Operations Squadron

Traditional – SSgt Tara Macion, 201st Intelligence Squadron

Senior NCO of the year:

Fulltime – SMSgt Alfred Brunn, 154th Communications Squadron

Traditional – MSgt Jake Ross, 154th Communications Squadron

First Sergeant of the year:

MSgt John Kim, 201st Air Operations Group

Company grade officer of year:

Fulltime – 1st Lt Sy Cullen, 169th Air Defense Squadron

Traditional – Capt Joseph Kina, 204th Airlift Squadron

Field grade officer of year:

Fulltime – Maj Glenn Hayase, 201st Air Operations Group

Traditional – Maj Blythjeanne “BeeJ” Itoman, 204th Airlift Squadron

Winning team award:

297th Air Traffic Control Squadron

Service Team Award:

154th Maintenance Operations Flight

Outstanding Unit award:

154th Communications Squadron

Kaleo Nui Award:

154th Medical Group

Check out the photographs

Prior to the transition to the Launa’ole awards, the Hawaii Air National Guard held an annual Awards Banquet to honor it’s outstanding airmen and units. The annual awards banquet began in the 1970s.

From → History

Comments are closed.