Skip to content

Air Reserve Meritorious Service Medal (ARMS)

August 12, 2019

The Air Reserve Meritorious Service Medal (ARMS) was established by Secretary of the Air Force Eugene M. Zuckert on April 1, 1964 as a ribbon award known as the Air Reserve Forces Meritorious Ribbon (ARFMSR). It was converted to a medal on November 2, 1971 by Secretary of the Air Force Robert C. Seamans, Jr.

The medal is awarded for exemplary behavior, efficiency and fidelity while serving in an enlisted status in the U.S. Air Force Reserve. It is a good conduct award for Air Reserve Forces airmen. When originally awarded as a ribbon, the service period was a four continuous year period.

For individuals with a beginning date after June 30, 1972, the length of service requirement is three continuous years of service.  Award the medal to individuals who accrue at least one year, but less than three years toward award of the medal and terminate their enlisted Reserve status as a commissioned or warrant officer regardless of the beginning eligibility date.

Any additional awards of the ARFMSM beyond the initial decoration are denoted by oak leaf clusters.

In doing research for this post, Retiree News found this October 18, 1973 letter awarding qualified 154th Consolidated Aircraft Maintenance Squadron members their Air Reserve Forces Meritorious Ribbon.

Check out the award letter for familiar names: 1973 ARFMSR listing

From → History

Comments are closed.