Skip to content

Check Six: Old Friends – 9 years ago

October 30, 2017

Special thanks to Dave Molinaro and Peter Ching for their help identifying the Guardmembers in this photograph.

This photograph was taken at the 2007 National Guard Association of the United States (NGAUS) Conference, which was held in Baltimore, Maryland. At the Conference, then U.S. Representative Neil Abercrombie was presented with the Charles Dick Medal of Merit.

click on photograph to enlarge

Back row (L-R): John Penebacker, Ray Jardine, Phoebe Inego, Mark Takai?, Randy Tom, Dave Molinario, Brain Leong, Rachel Yanos

Front row (L-R): Pete Pawling, Bert Narita, Sandy Hoggan, Neil Abercrombie, Dana Fisher, Peter Ching, Barbara Tucker

The Charles Dick Medal of Merit was established in 1988 and is designed to recognize the contributions to the National Guard by elected representatives to legislative bodies at the state and national levels.  The medal is named in honor of Major General Charles Dick, NGAUS president from 1902 to 1909, a major general in the Ohio National Guard, a Congressman and later a Senator. Dick was responsible for the passage of the Dick Acts of 1903 and 1908 that established the foundation of the modern National Guard.

From → History

Comments are closed.