Skip to content

Stiffer Penalties for Hawaii Drunk Drivers

December 2, 2019

From an Island Insurance flyer

Hawaii continues to have one of the highest alcohol-impaired driving rates in the country. Those who illegally drink and drive jeopardize their and others’ safety, and face severe legal, financial and personal ramifications. 

Under Hawaii’s Driving under the influence (DUI) law, it is illegal to drive with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher. New legislations passed on July 1, 2019 allows even harsher penalties for anyone caught driving drunk.

First Offense
– Driver’s license revocation for one year
– Minimum 14-hour substance abuse program
– One of more of the following:
>>> 72 hours community service
>>> Two to five days in jail
>>> Fine of $250.00 to $1,000.00

Second Offense
– Driver’s license revocation for two to three years
– One or more of the following:
>>> 240 hours of community service
>>> Five to 30 days in jail
>>> Fine of $1,000.00 to $3,000.00

Two or more offenses in a 10-year period
Charged with a Class C felony
– Up to five years in jail or five years of probation with conditions to include:
>>> Driver’s license suspension for three to five years
>>> No less that 10 days in jail
>>> Fine of $2,000.00 to $5,000.00

Hawaii’s Zero Tolerance Law means that anyone who is under 21 years old will automatically be charged with DUI if they are caught driving with any amount of alcohol in their system. The penalties for anyone under 21 years old may also include a mandatory fine of $500.00 and two days in jail.

From → Health & Safety

Comments are closed.