Skip to content

Check Six – 1972: 154th Fighter Group Sweeps HING Volleyball

March 5, 2020

From the Hawaii Guardsman, Summer 1972 Issue

The Hawaii National Guard volleyball program would up in a blaze of blue – Air Guard blue – as the 154th Fighter Group and the 169th aircraft Control & Warning Squadron slugged, or slammed, it our at the Kaneohe Armory recently.

The 154th finally won after two very hard fought games. The scores were close, despite the fact that a defective scoreboard made them look lopsided. 

Members of the winning team were: Majors Joseph Ah NewJohn BeaumontGeorge JoyGeorge Kuroda and Marlin Little; Captain Daniel Stone; First Lieutenants Geoffrey Avery and Clinton Churchill; Master Sergeants Darryl Ho, and Wayne Soma; Technical Sergeant Ronald Cozo; Staff Sergeants Harry FujiwaraMelvin Ige, Richard Saunders and William Stern; Sergeant Garry Teves and Airman First Class Roland Pang

In the photograph above:

Top row (L-R): Harry Fujiwara, Ronald Cozo, Melvin Ige, George Joy
Middle: Daniel Stone, Clinton Churchill, Marlin Little, Geoffrey Avery
Bottom: Darryl Ho, Richard Saunders, John Beaumont, William Stern

(Not all the team members were present for the championship team photograph.)

The runners-up, the 169th, were alos runners-up in the Wheeler Air Force Base league, Their team include: Capt Steven Oka, Senior Master Sergeants Deo Agbayani and Joseph Tibayan; Technical Sergeants James Akamine and Donald Hashimoto; Staff Sergeants Wallace AkagiMorris Geolina and Michael Nakaahiki and Airman First Class Wendell Wee. They were captained by Ray Imbo and coached by Master Sergeant Russell Ganiko.   

From → History

Comments are closed.