Skip to content

TSA and their Identification Process

February 17, 2020

From the TSA website

Off the Trip Savvy website

Adult passengers 18 and over must show valid identification at the airport checkpoint in order to travel. These are some of the forms of identification accepted.

– Driver’s licenses or other state photo identity cards issued by Department of Motor Vehicles (or equivalent)
– U.S. passport
– U.S. passport card- DHS trusted traveler cards (Global Entry, NEXUS, SENTRI, FAST)
– U.S. Department of Defense ID, including IDs issued to dependents
– Permanent resident card
– Border crossing card
– State-issued Enhanced Driver’s License
– Federally recognized, tribal-issued photo ID
– HSPD-12 PIV card
– Foreign government-issued passport
– Canadian provincial driver’s license or Indian and Northern Affairs Canada card
– Transportation worker identification credential
– U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services Employment Authorization Card (I-766)
– U.S. Merchant Mariner Credential

In coordination with its DHS counterparts, TSA has identified acceptable alternate identification for use in special circumstances at the checkpoint.

 A weapon permit is not an acceptable form of identification. A temporary driver’s license is not an acceptable form of identification.

Learn more

From → Consumer

Comments are closed.